

## Senate Approves Fenberg's Bipartisan Bill to Invest in Essential Wildfire Fighting Aircraft

Legislation would approve funding for the state to purchase a second Firehawk helicopter to better support wildfire fighting efforts across Colorado

**DENVER, CO** – Senate President Steve Fenberg's, D-Boulder, bipartisan bill to require the State Treasurer to finance the purchase of a Firehawk helicopter for wildfire fighting efforts cleared the Senate today.

Cosponsored by Senator Perry Will, R-New Castle, <u>SB23-161</u> would allow Colorado to purchase a second Firehawk helicopter, ensuring the Division of Fire Prevention and Control (DFPC) has at least one Firehawk available for rapid response at all times.

"We no longer have wildfire seasons, we have wildfire years, which is why we must proactively invest in advanced wildfire fighting equipment like the Firehawk to keep our communities safe," said Fenberg. "Firehawk helicopters are state-of-the-art and built for longevity, making this a smart investment for Colorado's future. This will help ensure we are able to aggressively respond to and mitigate wildfires with greater speed and increased capacity, and will help us better protect homes, people, and property against increasingly dangerous wildfires."

In 2021, Fenberg championed <u>legislation</u> to purchase <u>Colorado's first Firehawk helicopter</u>, which will join Colorado's fleet of firefighting aircraft later this year. Firehawk helicopters are considered the most technologically advanced firefighting aircraft available.

SB23-161 now heads to the House for further consideration. You can follow the bill's progress <u>HERE</u>.

###

## About the Colorado Senate Democrats

The 23-member Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2023 legislative session includes Senators Stephen Fenberg, James Coleman, Dominick Moreno, Robert Rodriguez, Julie Gonzales, Janet Buckner, Rachel Zenzinger, Jeff Bridges, Joann Ginal, Sonya Jaquez Lewis, Jessie Danielson, Faith Winter, Chris Kolker, Rhonda Fields, Chris Hansen, Nick Hinrichsen, Kevin Priola, Lisa Cutter, Dylan Roberts, Tom Sullivan, Janice Marchman, Kyle Mullica, Tony Exum, Sr.

To subscribe to this mailing list, click here.





